Miike Snow and The Maccabees at Music Hall of Williamsburg

miike-snow-001maccabees_press_shot376

I had to work at a show for Filter this weekend and saw Miike Snow (left) and The Maccabees (right) at the Music Hall of Williamsburg on Saturday. I was there to help Filter market Miike Snow and got in for free and had a plus one. All I had to do was put up up some posters, talk to some fans and take a few photos. Otherwise I was just there to check out the show and see how it went.

There were other bands playing, but I just saw Miike Snow and headliners, The Maccabees. Miike Snow are two Swedish dudes and one American who play kind of electronic, ambient pop music. This was either their first ever U.S. show or maybe their second or third. It was definitely not my thing, but they were good and what they did, and in general people seemed to be pretty excited about them. There definitely seemed to be a buzz going on about them, but I’m not so sure I get it. However, they seemed like perfectly nice dudes and I was happy to see them get a positive response.

The Maccabees played next. I had never listened to them either, but people were really fired up for them, especially the British chick next to us who rolled solo to the show because she loves the band so much. She guaranteed my friend and I that we wouldn’t be disappointed by them live. I was skeptical, but she turned out to be right. They were really loud, energetic, and fun to watch. The tunes were catchy and the performance was tight. I don’t know that I am going to run out and buy the album, but it was a great show to go to for free.

Stayed at Music Hall after the show and hung at the bar. There were some DJ sets and I met lots of nice folks. All in all a pretty good night.

2 Responses to “Miike Snow and The Maccabees at Music Hall of Williamsburg”

  1. […] The Maccabees played next. I had never listened to them either, but people were really fired up for them, especially the British chick next to us who rolled solo to the show because she loves the band so much. She guaranteed my friend and I that we wouldn’t be disappointed by them live. I was skeptical, but she turned out to be right. They were really loud, energetic, and fun to watch. The tunes were catchy and the performance was tight. I don’t know that I am going to run out and buy the album, but it was a great show to go to for free.” [Before They Make Me Run] […]

  2. That’s a cool gig with Filter you’ve got going–how’d you swing that? whenever I cover shows I never get a +1. Miike Snow is pretty sweet in my book, never heard of Macabees though.

Leave a Reply

